The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once

23876972-blog3

Making a real time game is a lot different than a program that updates at certain intervals.  The changing framerate is something that has to be accounted for when you’re moving the objects on screen to get smooth, fluid movement.  All this isn’t a problem as Δt is your friend,  the only problem I’m having is running the program in the emulator is giving me ~13fps.  I’m not sure if it is because it’s running on the emulator and not hardware.  I’ve done lots to optimize the framerate; if only everyone didn’t use Blackberries and iPhones so I could try it out on an actual phone.

Tags: , ,

About jjyap

I'm an undergraduate student at Simon Fraser University. A lot of the fun projects and research that I work on are Computer Vision and Machine Learning related.

One response to “The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once”

  1. DWong says :

    I must be different because I don’t have a Blackberry or an iPhone. You can run it on my Android phone.

Leave a Reply

